Zoe Heeley

Country: United Kingdom
Sector: Healthcare
Job title: Information Officer
Subject of study: History
Year of graduation: 2019
Type/Level of study: Undergraduate

Current Employer/Organisation Name

Cardiff and Vale University Healthboard

What have you been doing since leaving Exeter, and what are you doing now?

Upon graduating, I wanted to work as a Temp for a year to save money before taking a year off travelling. I worked as a Bank Administrator for Black Country Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust, through which I worked as a Ward Clerk on a psychiatric inpatient ward and a Team Administrator within a mental health Community Recovery Service. As Covid hit and meant that travel was no longer an option, when a Band 3Team Administrator position became available in the team in which I was working as a temp, I applied and was successful in this. I worked substantively in this position for just under a year. Due to personal circumstances I relocated to Cardiff in August 2021 and have since worked as a Band 4 Information Officer within the Business Intelligence Department at Cardiff and Vale University Health board.

Why did you choose this career? And what do you enjoy most about your work?

I chose to work for the NHS as a temp as I was keen for any temporary work I could find and administration was appealing to me to provide me with fundamental office etc experience. I enjoyed the variety and challenge if being an administrator, as well as the direct patient contact and feeling like I was making a difference/ helping people. I therefore was keen to stay in the NHS to not only take advantage of them being a good employer, but to continue to contribute to helping the local community. I enjoy the flexibility of my current job, and the challenge of picking up new skills.

Please tell us if you were a member of any societies, groups or sports clubs?

I was General Secretary of Animal Welfare Society and was involved with fundraising activities. However the defining parted my university experience was being part of EUWRFC. Playing rugby for Exeter allowed me to not only develop hugely as a rugby player, having never played before, but to make life long friends.

What did you enjoy most about your programme and what was the biggest highlight?

I enjoyed the wide scope of the degree, particularly the fact that Understanding the Modern World and Understanding the Medieval and Early Modern World modules in first year provided such a broad overview which allowed me to learn about a number of topics I had no previous experience with. This allowed me to find areas of interest that I had never previously considered, which then helped me to specialise in later years

What did you enjoy most about studying here?

I enjoyed the student athlete experience, particularly the capacity to access such high level facilities and coaching for rugby. I enjoyed being at a campus university which provided a sense of unity with the wider student population.

Why did you choose to study at Exeter?

I love that Exeter is a small enough city to become familiar with quickly, and that campus is so close. Exeter campus has beautiful grounds which are a real bonus. The history department has a real depth which allows you to specialise in a huge number of areas.

What advice would you give to a current student who wishes to pursue your career?

If you don’t know what career you want, it’s ok. Not many people do. You have time to try different jobs, see what aspects you like and don’t like, and use that in the future to find something that you enjoy.

What are your plans for the future?

I will be living in Cardiff for the next few years whilst my partner finishes university and then I hope to travel.

 

Similar Alumni

Richie Lau

Physio & More. I have completed a MSC physiotherapy degree at 2015 and worked in the NHS through COVID. I have been working in a private physio clinic and plan to move to Taiwan and Hong Kong to continue working as a physiotherapist.

Tim Tsui

NHS. I graduated BSc Sports science from Exeter in 2012, at that time, I was not exactly sure what career path that I would like to pursue. Therefore I studied MSc Sports science in Hong Kong as a part-timer and looked for a teaching assistant role at schools in Hong Kong.